Also: See Recent Town Updates below.

Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Blaine Lake

The Town of Blaine Lake is currently seeking applications for the position of Chief Administrative Officer (CAO).  This is a permanent, full-time position.

The Town of Blaine Lake is at a junction of Highways #12 and #40 between Shellbrook and North Battleford, as well as 45 minutes from Saskatoon. The town boosts a 9 hole golf course and a campground and a gateway to many lakes and parks. The town was incorporated in 1912 and has a rich history of the Dukhobor lifestyle and incorporates many cultures.  And has a population of 500 persons.

The town offers a brand new water treatment plant with full reverse osmosis system, full-service gas station, health clinic, New K-12 School being built, hardware store, laundromat, drug store, churches, grocery store, motel, library and other various business.

As the principal advisor to Council, the CAO is responsible for providing all relevant and necessary information to make informed decisions, along with providing leadership for planning and executing a strategic vision that meets the current and future needs of the Town.

Guided by the Municipalities Act, the work the CAO does is broad and requires a willingness to perform a variety of tasks including but not limited to:

  • Bookkeeping and Accounting – including bank reconciliations, payroll, financial statements, and budget preparation;
  • Preparation and processing of various billings and filings – including utility bills, GST returns, taxes, and assessments;
  • Managing staff;
  • Grant research and writing;
  • Bylaw writing, interpretation, and enforcement;
  • Attending Council meetings, preparing agendas and taking minutes;
  • Preparation of various other reports and documents;
  • Digital media communications – including website and Facebook.

The ideal candidate will possess:  See Full PDF

Town of Blaine Lake Recycling Program

The Town is in the process of making changes to it’s recycling program, so you may notice in the next month a change in the service provider, however, the schedule will remain the same. The next pickup is Friday, August 6, 2021.

Unfortunately, we have noticed an alarming increase in unacceptable material and items being placed in the recycling carts – items such as propane bottles, clothing, small household appliances, batteries, paint cans, carpet, animal waste – are not acceptable. 

 We would remind everyone that there is a difference between what is “recyclable” and what might be “reusable” and garbage. Recyclable items include plastics ONLY with a triangle on the bottom with the number 1 thru 7 in the triangle. No black plastic of any kind can by placed in the cart. Plastic bottles, milk jugs, tin cans (soup, food tins etc), cardboard boxes and paper are all recyclable. Everything else, even though it maybe “reusable”, goes in your garbage cart or to Sarcan for disposal such as batteries, electronics, paint cans. When in doubt, do not put in recycle cart, as it likely is not.

Please check our recycle page for more information or call the Town Office with any questions – Thank you